C)IHE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

C)IHE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • Mile2's indexed Exam Combo lists at USD $500 on sale versus $795 original, covering exam, simulator and guide.
  • The bare-exam fee, member pricing, taxes and sale duration were not verified, so confirm them at checkout.
  • Buying the course is not required to purchase the exam; the exam is 100 multiple-choice questions at a 70% minimum.
  • Renewal follows a three-year cycle with 60 qualifying CEUs, but the renewal fee amount is unverified.

The One Official Price Point

When people search for the cost of the Certified Incident Handling Engineer credential, they usually want a single number. The honest answer is that one firm figure is publicly indexed from the certifying body, Mile2, and it applies to a bundle rather than the exam alone. The Exam Combo is listed at USD $500 on sale, against an original price of $795. That bundle includes the exam, a simulator and a guide.

This article treats that combo as the anchor for planning, and it is explicit about what remains unconfirmed. If you want a refresher on what the credential is before you budget for it, see What Is C)IHE Certification? and What Does C)IHE Stand For? to make sure you are looking at Mile2's Certified Incident Handling Engineer and not another credential that shares an acronym.

ItemStatus in Reviewed Official Material
Exam Combo (exam + simulator + guide), sale priceUSD $500
Exam Combo, original priceUSD $795
Bare-exam fee (exam alone)Not verified
Member vs. nonmember pricingNot verified
Checkout taxesNot verified
How long the sale price lastsNot verified
Renewal fee amountNot verified
Read the sale carefully: The gap between $500 and $795 is substantial, but the duration of the sale was not verified. Treat $500 as the current indexed price, not a guaranteed one, and check the live checkout page before committing a budget.

What Is and Isn't Verified About Pricing

Good budgeting starts with knowing which numbers you can rely on. For this credential, the verified pricing picture is narrow, and padding it with guesses would only mislead you.

Confirmed

  • The Exam Combo is indexed at $500 sale and $795 original.
  • The combo contents are the exam, the simulator and the guide.
  • Purchasing the course is not required to buy the exam.

Not confirmed

  • What the exam costs when purchased by itself.
  • Whether a member or nonmember distinction changes your price.
  • Taxes or fees added at checkout, which can vary by location.
  • How long the sale pricing will remain available.
  • The dollar amount of the renewal fee.

Rather than quoting figures from memory or from other certifications, plan around the verified combo price and add a buffer for unverified items. For a broader look at how cost ties into career payoff, the C)IHE ROI analysis and the C)IHE salary guide take that angle.

Building Your Total Cost Estimate

Your real outlay is the sum of several layers. Only the first is directly priced in the reviewed material, so the others are framed as categories to investigate rather than numbers to assume.

  1. Exam Combo: $500 at the indexed sale price. This is your core, verified line item.
  2. Taxes and checkout adjustments: unverified; check the final cart total.
  3. Optional training: Mile2 offers a five-day class tied to the credential. Its price was not verified here, and it is not required to take the exam.
  4. Your own environment: because testing is online through the Mile2 Learning Management System, you need dependable internet and a suitable device. Whether remote proctoring applies and what it requires were not verified.
  5. Retake contingency: retake policy and pricing were not verified in the reviewed material, so hold a reserve rather than assuming a number.
  6. Renewal: a fee applies under the dedicated renewal policy, amount unverified.

A Practical Budgeting Rule

Anchor on the one verified figure and treat everything else as a range to confirm.

  • Start with the $500 combo price as your baseline.
  • Request or locate written confirmation of taxes and any bare-exam option before paying.
  • Keep a separate reserve for a possible retake and for future renewal.

Course vs. Exam-Only: The Purchase Decision

One of the most important cost facts is that course purchase is not required to buy the exam. That separates the five-day instructor-led class from the exam itself, and it gives self-directed candidates a lower-cost path.

The class carries 40 CEUs and includes Cyber Range exercises. Those are course values, not exam attributes. The 40 CEUs describe credit associated with the class, not exam duration or scoring weights. Likewise, Cyber Range training supports learning but does not establish a hands-on practical component on the certification exam. The exam is described as 100 multiple-choice questions, so do not pay for lab-heavy training expecting it to mirror a practical test.

PathWhat You GetBest Fit
Exam Combo onlyExam, simulator and guide at the indexed $500 sale priceCandidates with existing incident response and networking background
Combo plus five-day classGuided instruction, Cyber Range exercises, 40 course CEUs, plus the combo contentsCandidates newer to structured incident handling who want instructor support

The suggested background is 12 months of network-technology experience, networking and TCP/IP knowledge, and essential Linux knowledge. If you already have that, the combo path is the leaner choice. Read the full eligibility picture in C)IHE Requirements, and note that no mandatory degree or reference count was verified.

What You're Paying to Sit: Format and Scope

Understanding the exam you are funding helps you judge whether the combo or a longer program makes sense.

  • Questions: 100 multiple-choice questions. How many are scored versus unscored is unstated.
  • Time: approximately two hours.
  • Passing grade: a minimum of 70%. See C)IHE Passing Score for more on the threshold.
  • Delivery: online through the Mile2 Learning Management System.
  • Rules not verified: open-book status, calculator allowance, remote-proctoring requirements and whether the exam is adaptive.
  • Pass rate: not publicly disclosed in the reviewed official material. The C)IHE pass rate article explains how to think about that gap.

For scheduling specifics, see C)IHE Exam Dates, and for difficulty framing, How Hard Is the C)IHE Exam?

The Twelve Preparation Modules You Are Funding

Part of what the guide and simulator in the combo support is mastery of the twelve substantive preparation modules from the currently linked Mile2 outline (Module 00 is only a course introduction and is not counted). These are unweighted course preparation headings, not an official weighted blueprint, so no percentages or "largest domain" can be stated. The C)IHE exam domains guide walks through all twelve in detail.

Domains 1-4: Foundations and Organization

Domain 1 (Incident Handling Explained) covers what an incident is, the difference between incident handling and incident response, and why an incident response plan and team matter. Domain 2 (Incident Response Policy, Plan and Procedure Creation) covers writing policy, plan and procedures and sharing information with outside parties. Domain 3 (Incident Response Team Structure) addresses team models, model selection, personnel and organizational dependencies. Domain 4 (Incident Response Team Services) covers intrusion detection, advisory distribution, education and awareness, and information sharing.

Domains 5-7: Capability, Preparation, and Detection

Domain 5 (Incident Response Recommendations) centers on establishing a formal capability, information sharing and team building. Domain 6 (Preparation) spans threat hunting, threat analysis frameworks, tools and toolkits, policy, procedures and preventing incidents. The issuer prints this one as Chapter 06 within the same sequential list. Domain 7 (Detection and Analysis) covers attack vectors, signs of an incident, sources of precursors and indicators, analysis, documentation, prioritization and notification.

Domains 8-12: Response, Learning, and Coordination

Domain 8 (Containment, Eradication and Recovery) covers containment strategy, evidence gathering and handling, identifying attacking hosts, and eradication and recovery. Domain 9 (Post Incident Activity) covers lessons learned, using collected incident data and evidence retention. Domain 10 (Incident Handling Checklist) focuses on building checklists. Domain 11 (Incident Handling Recommendations) covers recommendations and implementing threat intelligence. Domain 12 (Coordination and Information Sharing) includes coordination, purple teaming, information sharing techniques, granular sharing and sharing recommendations.

A version caveat that affects value: The current linked outline carries the version string vs. 922021 and describes the older four-phase NIST 800-61 model. NIST published Revision 3 on April 3, 2025, but whether Mile2 has adopted it was not verified. Treat the four-phase model as historical course content and not as proof of adoption, and confirm which framing your materials use before you invest heavily in any one source.

Retakes, Renewal and Long-Term Costs

The sticker price is only the start. The credential has a defined lifecycle, and the costs beyond the exam deserve attention.

Renewal under the dedicated policy

Under the current dedicated renewal policy, the credential is valid for three years. Renewal calls for 60 qualifying CEUs, agreement to Mile2's policies and ethics, and payment of the applicable renewal fee. The fee amount was not verified.

Key Takeaway

Some older Mile2 course PDFs mention retaking the current exam and earning 20 CEUs per year. For current administration, follow the dedicated renewal policy instead: three-year expiry, 60 qualifying CEUs, policy and ethics agreement, and the applicable fee. Do not budget for both a retake and annual CEUs based on outdated wording.

CEUs also should not be confused with exam weights. The 40 CEUs attached to the five-day class are a training value, and the 60 renewal CEUs are a maintenance requirement. Neither says anything about how the exam is scored.

Retake planning

Retake fees and waiting periods were not verified in the reviewed material. The safest approach is to keep a reserve and to prepare thoroughly so that the first attempt counts. The C)IHE study guide lays out how to do that.

Sequencing Your Spend Over Preparation Weeks

Because the combo bundles the simulator with the exam, you can stage how you use what you have paid for. This single scheduling sketch ties the modules to the order a candidate might tackle them. The module allocation here is editorial, not an official weighting.

Weeks 1-2

Frame the process (Domains 1-5)

  • Learn incident versus event vocabulary and the handling versus response distinction.
  • Study policy, plan and procedure creation and team models.
Weeks 3-4

Operational core (Domains 6-8)

  • Work through preparation, threat hunting and analysis frameworks.
  • Practice detection, prioritization, containment and evidence handling concepts.
Weeks 5-6

Maturity and coordination (Domains 9-12)

  • Review lessons learned, evidence retention and checklist construction.
  • Cover threat intelligence, purple teaming and information sharing, then run simulator sessions.

Practice sessions in the main practice test site can complement the simulator in your combo. For a compact review sheet near exam day, use the C)IHE cheat sheet.

Weighing Cost Against Career Return

Incident handling is a recognized function inside security operations, and a credential built around the full lifecycle of detection, containment, recovery and coordination signals structured knowledge of that work. Roles where this shows up include incident responders, security operations analysts, and team members who help build or run response capability. See C)IHE jobs for how employers frame the skill set and the salary guide for earnings context, keeping in mind that no specific salary figure is asserted here.

If you are weighing a self-study route against a class-supported route, remember the exam is knowledge-based multiple choice. Lab-oriented training is valuable for skill-building, but it does not change what the exam format tests. When the verified investment is the $500 combo, many candidates with the suggested networking and Linux background will find self-study sufficient, while newer practitioners may justify the class for guidance. Either way, confirm current pricing on the official Mile2 pages, and start from the C)IHE certification overview if you need orientation.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the C)IHE exam cost?

The official indexed Exam Combo, which includes the exam, simulator and guide, is USD $500 on sale against an original $795. The bare-exam fee, member versus nonmember pricing, taxes and the sale's duration were not verified, so confirm them at checkout.

Do I have to buy the course to take the exam?

No. Course purchase is not required to buy the exam. The five-day class is optional training that carries 40 CEUs and includes Cyber Range exercises, but those are course values and do not make the exam a practical test.

What does the exam format look like?

It consists of 100 multiple-choice questions over approximately two hours, with a minimum passing grade of 70%, delivered online through the Mile2 Learning Management System. The split between scored and unscored questions is unstated.

What does renewal cost and how long is the certification valid?

The credential is valid for three years. Renewal under the dedicated policy requires 60 qualifying CEUs, agreement to policies and ethics, and payment of the applicable renewal fee, whose amount was not verified. Older course PDFs mention a retake and 20 CEUs per year, but current administration follows the dedicated renewal policy.

Is there an official pass rate to factor into my budget?

A candidate pass rate is not publicly disclosed in the reviewed official material. Because retake pricing was also not verified, it is prudent to prepare thoroughly and hold a modest reserve instead of assuming you will need only one attempt.

Ready to pass your C)IHE exam?

Put this into practice with free C)IHE questions across every exam domain.