- What Certified Incident Handling Engineer Actually Is
- Exam Format and Registration Mechanics
- Who the Credential Is Built For
- The Twelve Preparation Areas, Explained
- The NIST Model Behind the Course Content
- Cost Signals and What Is Not Verified
- Renewal: Three Years, 60 CEUs
- Where the Credential Fits in Hiring
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Frequently Asked Questions
- C)IHE stands for Certified Incident Handling Engineer, issued by Mile2 and tested online through the Mile2 Learning Management System.
- The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in roughly two hours, with a 70% minimum to pass.
- Twelve course modules form unweighted preparation scope; no official domain percentages have been verified.
- Certification is valid for three years and renewal requires 60 qualifying CEUs plus policy and ethics agreement.
What Certified Incident Handling Engineer Actually Is
C)IHE is the abbreviation for Certified Incident Handling Engineer, a credential offered by Mile2. If you have seen the same letters elsewhere, set those associations aside: this article covers only the Mile2 incident handling certification, and every fact below applies to that credential alone. For a quick orientation on the name itself, see What Does C)IHE Stand For? and C)IHE Meaning.
The certification focuses on the full life of a security incident, from deciding whether an event even qualifies as an incident, through building a response capability, to containment, eradication, recovery and post-incident learning. It is process-heavy by design. Candidates are expected to understand policy, plan and procedure creation, team structures and services, detection and analysis, evidence handling, checklists, and the coordination and information sharing that happens between organizations.
Exam Format and Registration Mechanics
The verified exam parameters are simple and worth memorizing:
| Attribute | Verified Detail |
|---|---|
| Issuer | Mile2 |
| Delivery | Online through the Mile2 Learning Management System |
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Time allowed | Approximately 2 hours |
| Minimum passing grade | 70% |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not stated in reviewed material |
| Practical or lab exam component | Not established; Cyber Range exercises are training, not a verified exam section |
Several administrative details were not verified in the reviewed official material: whether the exam is open-book, whether calculators are permitted, the specific remote-proctoring rules, and whether the exam is adaptive. Do not assume any of these. Check the live Mile2 exam instructions before you book. For a deeper look at the score threshold, read C)IHE Passing Score 2026, and for scheduling logistics see C)IHE Exam Dates 2026.
The Cyber Range Distinction
Mile2 course material references Cyber Range exercises. These support training and hands-on practice. They do not establish that the certification exam includes a practical, lab-based portion. Plan for a 100-question multiple-choice test and treat the Cyber Range as optional skill-building.
Who the Credential Is Built For
Mile2 suggests candidates bring roughly 12 months of network-technology experience, working knowledge of networking and TCP/IP, and essential Linux knowledge. These are suggestions rather than verified hard gates; no mandatory degree and no required reference count were verified. Taking the course is not required to purchase the exam, which means self-directed candidates can sit for it directly. Our C)IHE Requirements article goes deeper on eligibility and prerequisites.
In practice, the profile that benefits most includes:
- SOC analysts moving from alert triage toward owning incident response procedures
- System and network administrators who are informally the first responders at their organizations
- Security team leads who must build or formalize an incident response team and its policies
- Compliance and risk staff who need fluency in incident documentation, notification and information sharing
The Twelve Preparation Areas, Explained
The current-linked Mile2 outline lists twelve substantive modules, excluding the Module 00 course introduction. These are unweighted preparation headings, not an official weighted exam blueprint, so no official percentages exist and no domain can be called the largest by weight. Any allocation of your own study time is an editorial judgment. For the domain-by-domain breakdown, see C)IHE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 12 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Incident Handling Explained
Foundational vocabulary and framing. Candidates must separate an event from an incident and understand the difference between incident handling and incident response.
- What an incident is and what incident handling is
- The incident response process at a high level
- Reasons to maintain an incident response plan
- How to build an effective incident response team, and considerations and tips for team members
Domain 2: Incident Response Policy, Plan and Procedure Creation
The documentation layer. Expect to distinguish a policy from a plan from a procedure, since they serve different audiences and purposes.
- Incident response policy, plan and procedures as separate artifacts
- Sharing information with outside parties
Domain 3: Incident Response Team Structure
How teams are organized and why. Candidates should be able to match a team model to an organizational situation.
- Team models and team model selection
- Incident response personnel
- Dependencies within organizations
Domain 4: Incident Response Team Services
What a response team actually offers its constituency beyond reacting to incidents.
- Intrusion detection
- Advisory distribution
- Education and awareness
- Information sharing
Domain 5: Incident Response Recommendations
Program-level guidance on standing up a capability.
- Establishing a formal incident response capability
- Establishing information sharing capabilities
- Building an incident response team
Domain 6: Preparation
The proactive phase. Note that the issuer prints this one as "Chapter 06" within the same sequential list of modules.
- Threat hunting and threat analysis frameworks
- Tools and toolkits
- Policy and procedures
- Preventing incidents
Domain 7: Detection and Analysis
The operational heart of triage work.
- Attack vectors and signs of an incident
- Sources of precursors and indicators
- Incident analysis, documentation, prioritization and notification
Domain 8: Containment, Eradication and Recovery
Decision-making under pressure, with evidence discipline.
- Selecting the right containment strategy
- Gathering and handling evidence
- Identifying the attacking hosts
- Eradication and recovery
Domain 9: Post Incident Activity
Turning an incident into organizational improvement.
- Lessons learned
- Using collected incident data
- Evidence retention
Domain 10: Incident Handling Checklist
Codifying response steps so they are repeatable under stress.
- Introduction to checklists and building checklists
Domain 11: Incident Handling Recommendations
Consolidated guidance, including intelligence integration.
- Recommendations
- Implementing threat intel
Domain 12: Coordination and Information Sharing
Working across team and organizational boundaries.
- Coordination and purple teaming
- Information sharing techniques and granular information sharing
- Sharing recommendations
The NIST Model Behind the Course Content
The current-linked outline carries the version string vs. 922021 and describes the older four-phase NIST SP 800-61 incident response model. NIST published Revision 3 on April 3, 2025, but whether Mile2 has adopted that revision was not verified. The sensible reading is that the four-phase model in the course is historical course content, not proof of alignment with Revision 3.
What this means for you: learn the model as the course teaches it, since that is the material the exam is prepared from, but do not be surprised if you later encounter newer NIST framing in the wider industry. If you want to read the newer revision for context, treat it as supplementary rather than as exam content unless Mile2 states otherwise.
Cost Signals and What Is Not Verified
The official indexed offering is an Exam Combo listed at a USD $500 sale price against a $795 original price, bundling the exam, a simulator and a guide. Several things were not verified: the bare-exam fee, any member versus nonmember distinction, checkout taxes, and how long the sale lasts. Treat the combo figures as a snapshot and confirm the live price on Mile2 before budgeting. The full discussion lives in C)IHE Certification Cost 2026.
The five-day class and 40 CEUs mentioned in the course materials are course values. They describe the training event, not the exam duration, and they are not scored weights of any kind.
Renewal: Three Years, 60 CEUs
Under the current dedicated renewal policy, the certification is valid for three years. Renewal involves earning 60 qualifying CEUs, agreeing to Mile2 policies and ethics, and paying the applicable renewal fee, whose amount was not verified.
Where the Credential Fits in Hiring
Because the certification centers on building and running a response capability, it maps most naturally to roles where incident handling is a core duty rather than an occasional task. Job titles that commonly reference this kind of skill set include SOC analyst, incident responder, security operations lead, and security engineer with response responsibilities. Verified salary and employer data for this specific credential are not available here, so rather than quote numbers, check current postings and our C)IHE Jobs and C)IHE Salary Guide pages for qualitative context.
The credential is a stronger signal when paired with demonstrable experience: a documented playbook you wrote, a tabletop exercise you ran, or evidence-handling procedures you helped establish. Whether it justifies the investment for your situation is a fair question, addressed in Is the C)IHE Certification Worth It?
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
Since the twelve modules are unweighted, any schedule is editorial. One reasonable approach groups modules by how they build on each other, so concepts reinforce rather than repeat. For a fuller plan, see the C)IHE Study Guide 2026.
Vocabulary and Documents (Domains 1-2)
- Lock in the event versus incident distinction and incident handling versus incident response
- Practice telling policy, plan and procedure apart, since later domains assume this
Organization and Capability (Domains 3-5)
- Compare team models and when each fits
- Review team services and the recommendations for building a capability
Preparation and Detection (Domains 6-7)
- Cover threat hunting, analysis frameworks and prevention
- Work through attack vectors, indicators versus precursors, prioritization and notification
Response and Aftermath (Domains 8-9)
- Practice choosing containment strategies and handling evidence correctly
- Review lessons learned and evidence retention
Checklists, Recommendations and Coordination (Domains 10-12)
- Revisit checklist building and threat intel implementation
- Study purple teaming and granular information sharing, then take timed practice sets on our practice test site
Because the exam is a single 100-question sitting in about two hours, build timing into your practice: that averages to well under 90 seconds per question, so you need to recognize standard incident handling concepts quickly. Review our difficulty guide and the pass rate discussion, noting that no candidate pass rate has been publicly disclosed in the reviewed official material.
Key Takeaway
Concentrate on distinctions the course draws repeatedly: policy versus plan versus procedure, indicator versus precursor, containment versus eradication versus recovery, and coordination versus information sharing. Exam questions in a process-oriented certification often hinge on these boundaries. Reinforce them with a one-page review such as the C)IHE Cheat Sheet and scenario questions from the practice test.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Incident Handling Engineer, a Mile2 certification focused on the incident handling lifecycle, from preparation and detection through containment, recovery and information sharing.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, takes approximately two hours, and requires a minimum of 70% to pass. The split between scored and unscored questions is not stated in the reviewed material.
No. Course purchase is not required to buy the exam. Mile2 does suggest about 12 months of network-technology experience plus networking, TCP/IP and essential Linux knowledge.
No official weights were verified. The twelve modules are unweighted preparation scope drawn from the course outline, so you cannot say which one carries the most exam weight.
It is valid for three years. Under the current renewal policy you need 60 qualifying CEUs, agreement to Mile2 policies and ethics, and payment of the applicable renewal fee, whose amount was not verified.
For more background on the credential name and scope, explore C)IHE Certification, What Is C)IHE? and C)IHE Training.