C)IHE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

C)IHE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • Mile2 does not publicly disclose a C)IHE candidate pass rate in the official material reviewed, so any specific percentage you see is unverified.
  • The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions, roughly two hours, with a 70% minimum score, delivered online through the Mile2 Learning Management System.
  • The twelve course modules are unweighted preparation scope, not official exam domains with published percentages.
  • The linked course outline carries version string vs. 922021 and describes the older four-phase NIST 800-61 model.

What Pass-Rate Data Actually Exists for C)IHE

If you searched for the C)IHE pass rate hoping to find a clean percentage, here is the honest answer: the reviewed official Mile2 material does not disclose one. The Certified Incident Handling Engineer course outline, the CIHE web outline PDF, and the certification renewal program page describe the exam's format, passing grade, and renewal mechanics, but none of them publishes how many candidates pass on a first or any attempt.

That matters because pass-rate articles across the certification industry often fill the gap with confident-sounding numbers. For this credential, any figure you encounter that is not traceable to Mile2 itself should be treated as unverified. This article takes a different approach: it lays out what is known about the Certified Incident Handling Engineer exam, what the format implies about difficulty, and how to judge your own readiness without relying on a statistic that does not exist publicly.

Scope note: "C)IHE" in this article means Certified Incident Handling Engineer from Mile2, and nothing else. Facts here come from the Mile2 course outline, the CIHE web outline PDF, and the Mile2 certification renewal program page, reviewed September 29, 2026.

Why Mile2 Does Not Publish a Pass Rate

Vendors choose not to publish pass rates for several understandable reasons, and while Mile2 has not stated its reasoning for C)IHE, the common ones are worth knowing so you can interpret the silence correctly:

  • Population effects. A pass rate blends together candidates who completed the full five-day class, candidates who self-studied, and candidates who attempted the exam cold. The blended number says little about your odds.
  • Retake and attempt counting. Whether a rate is per attempt or per candidate changes its meaning dramatically, and the exam delivery details that would clarify this are not in the reviewed official material.
  • Course purchase is optional. Because buying the course is not required to buy the exam, the candidate pool is heterogeneous in ways no single percentage captures.

For a deeper look at how the format translates into real-world difficulty, see How Hard Is the C)IHE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. The absence of a published rate does not mean the exam is easy or hard; it means you must measure readiness directly.

The Exam Facts You Can Verify

Where a pass rate is missing, the verifiable format facts do the heavy lifting. Here is what the reviewed official sources support:

ItemWhat the reviewed sources state
Certifying bodyMile2
CredentialCertified Incident Handling Engineer (C)IHE)
DeliveryOnline through the Mile2 Learning Management System
Question format100 multiple-choice questions
DurationApproximately 2 hours
Minimum passing score70%
Suggested background12 months of network-technology experience, networking/TCP/IP knowledge, and essential Linux knowledge
Course required to buy exam?No
Candidate pass rateNot publicly disclosed in reviewed official material

A few details are deliberately not in that table because they were not verified: the split between scored and unscored questions, whether the exam is open-book, whether calculators are allowed, remote-proctoring rules, and whether the test is adaptive. If you need those specifics, confirm them with Mile2 directly before exam day rather than assuming. For the cut score itself, see C)IHE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Pricing context

The official indexed Exam Combo, which includes the exam, a simulator, and a guide, was listed at USD $500 on sale against a $795 original price. The bare-exam fee, any member/nonmember distinction, checkout taxes, and how long the sale runs were not verified. Treat the combo price as a reference point and check the live checkout page. A full breakdown lives in C)IHE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Difficulty Signals Hidden in the Course Outline

Without a pass rate, the structure of the material is your best proxy for how demanding the exam is. Three signals stand out.

Signal 1: Breadth across twelve modules

The published outline contains twelve substantive modules (excluding the Module 00 course introduction). They range from conceptual and organizational topics, such as building a response team and writing policy, to operational ones, such as containment, evidence handling, and detection. A candidate strong on hands-on technical work but weak on policy and team-structure content can be caught off guard, because a 100-question exam spread across this much ground does not let you hide in one specialty.

Signal 2: A mix of managerial and technical thinking

Look at how the modules split. Modules 1 through 5 lean toward program design: what an incident is, the difference between incident handling and incident response, policy and plan creation, team models, team services, and recommendations. Modules 6 through 9 follow the lifecycle: preparation, detection and analysis, containment/eradication/recovery, and post-incident activity. Modules 10 through 12 cover checklists, recommendations, and coordination. Expect questions that ask you to choose the best action or identify the right team model rather than recite a command.

Signal 3: Course length is not exam length

The class runs five days and carries 40 CEUs. Those are course values. They are not the exam's duration and they are not scoring weights. Do not read "five days" as a hint about how the 100 questions are distributed. Likewise, Cyber Range exercises support training, but they do not establish that the certification exam has a practical component; the reviewed sources describe the exam as 100 multiple-choice questions.

Why this matters for readiness: A 70% minimum on 100 questions means you can miss a meaningful number of questions and still pass, but breadth of coverage is the real risk. Skipping an entire module because it feels "soft" is how otherwise capable engineers fall short.

The Version-String Caveat: vs. 922021 and NIST Revisions

One detail deserves its own section because it affects how you study. The currently linked C)IHE outline bears the version string vs. 922021 and describes the older four-phase NIST 800-61 incident response model. NIST published Revision 3 of its incident response guidance on April 3, 2025. However, whether Mile2 has adopted that revision into the C)IHE course or exam was not verified.

The practical takeaway is to keep two things separate:

  • What the exam prep material teaches: the four-phase model as presented in the linked outline.
  • What current NIST guidance says: Revision 3, which may be organized differently.

Use the Mile2 outline as your primary study framework for the exam, and treat newer NIST material as useful professional context rather than assuming it appears on the test. Do not infer that Mile2 has moved to Revision 3 simply because NIST has. If the model's phases appear in a question, answer according to the framework the course presents. To see how the phases map onto the modules, review C)IHE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 12 Content Areas.

Turning the Unweighted Outline Into a Readiness Plan

The twelve modules below are the preparation headings from the currently linked Mile2 outline. They are unweighted. No official percentages or "largest" domain were supplied, so any suggestion about where to spend extra time is editorial judgment, not an exam blueprint.

Domain 1: Incident Handling Explained

Foundational vocabulary and framing, and the place where terminology questions originate.

  • What an incident is and what incident handling is
  • The difference between incident handling and incident response
  • Seven reasons to build an incident response plan
  • Building an effective team and tips for team members

Domain 2: Incident Response Policy, Plan and Procedure Creation

Know the distinction among the three documents, because scenario questions often hinge on it.

  • Policy versus plan versus procedures
  • Sharing information with outside parties

Domains 3 and 4: Team Structure and Team Services

Organizational design plus what a team actually delivers.

  • Team models, model selection, personnel, and organizational dependencies
  • Intrusion detection, advisory distribution, education and awareness, information sharing

Domain 5: Incident Response Recommendations

Establishing a formal capability, information-sharing capabilities, and building the team.

Domain 6: Preparation

Note that the issuer prints this one as "Chapter 06" within the same sequential list, but it is part of the twelve substantive modules.

  • Threat hunting and threat analysis frameworks
  • Tools and toolkits, policy, and procedures
  • Preventing incidents

Domain 7: Detection and Analysis

The most scenario-heavy material on the list.

  • Attack vectors, signs of an incident, sources of precursors and indicators
  • Incident analysis, documentation, prioritization, and notification

Domain 8: Containment, Eradication and Recovery

  • Selecting the right containment strategy
  • Gathering and handling evidence
  • Identifying attacking hosts, eradication and recovery

Domains 9 through 12

Post-incident activity (lessons learned, using collected data, evidence retention), the incident handling checklist, recommendations including implementing threat intelligence, and coordination and information sharing including purple teaming and granular sharing.

A sequencing approach tied to these modules

Since generic scheduling advice is everywhere, here is a C)IHE-specific sequencing logic: front-load the vocabulary and document-hierarchy modules (1 and 2) so later scenario questions parse correctly, then work through the lifecycle modules (6 through 9) in order, because they build on each other. Save modules 10 through 12 for the end, when you can connect checklists and coordination back to the full lifecycle.

Phase A

Vocabulary and documents

  • Modules 1 and 2: lock in definitions and the policy/plan/procedure distinction
  • Modules 3 to 5: team models and services
Phase B

Lifecycle depth

  • Modules 6 and 7: preparation, detection, analysis
  • Modules 8 and 9: containment, eradication, recovery, post-incident
Phase C

Synthesis and timed practice

  • Modules 10 to 12: checklists, recommendations, coordination
  • Full 100-question timed runs under roughly two-hour conditions

For a fuller plan, see C)IHE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and use C)IHE Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts for last-week review.

How to Evaluate Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online

Because no official figure exists in the reviewed material, you will likely run into third-party claims. Apply these filters before trusting any of them:

  1. Ask for the source. A legitimate figure should trace to Mile2 or to a clearly described survey with a stated sample. Vague phrases like "most candidates pass" are not data.
  2. Check which credential it describes. Several certifications share the C)IHE letters. A statistic about a different credential tells you nothing about Certified Incident Handling Engineer.
  3. Check what is being counted. Per-attempt rate, per-candidate rate, and class-completer rate are very different quantities.
  4. Prefer your own measurement. Timed practice scoring consistently above 70% across all twelve modules is a better signal than any aggregate number.

Key Takeaway

Replace "What is the pass rate?" with "Am I scoring comfortably above 70% on timed, full-length, scenario-style practice across all twelve modules?" That question has an answer you can actually obtain. Build your own readiness data using the C)IHE practice tests.

After You Pass: Validity and Renewal

Pass-rate curiosity often hides a deeper question: is the credential worth the effort? Part of that answer is what comes after the exam. Under the current dedicated renewal policy, the certification carries three-year validity. Renewal involves 60 qualifying CEUs, agreement to the policies and ethics requirements, and payment of the applicable renewal fee (the amount was not verified).

One trap to avoid: the attached Mile2 course PDFs contain older recertification wording about retaking the current exam and earning 20 CEUs per year. For current administration, rely on the dedicated renewal policy page rather than combining the old and new rules. In other words, do not assume you must both retake the exam and earn annual CEUs. Also keep the 40 CEUs attached to the five-day class distinct from the 60 qualifying CEUs needed for renewal, and never confuse either with exam scoring weights.

For the career-value side of the question, see Is the C)IHE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and C)IHE Jobs for the kinds of roles where incident handling knowledge is applied, including SOC analysis, incident response coordination, and security operations work. If you are still sorting out what the credential covers, start with What Is C)IHE Certification?.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the C)IHE pass rate?

Mile2 does not publicly disclose a candidate pass rate for the Certified Incident Handling Engineer exam in the official material reviewed. Any specific percentage you see elsewhere should be treated as unverified unless it clearly traces to Mile2.

What score do I need to pass the C)IHE exam?

The minimum passing grade is 70%. The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions and runs approximately two hours, delivered online through the Mile2 Learning Management System. The scored versus unscored question split was not stated.

Do I have to take the Mile2 course before sitting the exam?

No. Course purchase is not required to buy the exam. Mile2 suggests about 12 months of network-technology experience, networking and TCP/IP knowledge, and essential Linux knowledge, but no mandatory degree or reference count was verified.

Are the twelve course modules weighted exam domains?

No. They are unweighted preparation headings from the linked course outline. No official percentages or largest-weighted domain were published, so any allocation of study time across them is a judgment call, not an official blueprint.

Does the C)IHE exam include a hands-on lab?

The reviewed sources describe a 100-question multiple-choice exam. Cyber Range exercises support the training, but they do not establish a practical component on the certification exam itself.

How long is the certification valid and how do I renew it?

Under the current renewal policy, validity is three years. Renewal calls for 60 qualifying CEUs, agreement to the policy and ethics terms, and the applicable renewal fee, whose amount was not verified. Older course PDFs mention a retake and 20 CEUs per year, which should not be combined with the current policy.

Ready to pass your C)IHE exam?

Put this into practice with free C)IHE questions across every exam domain.