- What the Acronym Expands To
- Why the Parenthesis Sits Where It Does
- Who Issues the Credential
- What the Credential Covers: Twelve Preparation Areas
- The Four-Phase Model and the NIST Caveat
- Exam Format at a Glance
- Entry Expectations and Buying the Exam
- Validity and Renewal
- Who the Credential Is Aimed At
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Module
- Frequently Asked Questions
- C)IHE stands for Certified Incident Handling Engineer, a Mile2 credential tested online through the Mile2 Learning Management System.
- The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in roughly two hours, with a 70% minimum to pass.
- Twelve substantive course modules define preparation scope, but they are unweighted and not an official exam blueprint.
- Certification validity runs three years and renewal asks for 60 qualifying CEUs under the dedicated policy.
What the Acronym Expands To
C)IHE stands for Certified Incident Handling Engineer. That is the whole answer to the question most people type into a search box, but the unusual punctuation deserves a closer look, and so does the surrounding context: who awards it, what it tests, and what a holder is expected to know.
If you landed here from a search for the abbreviation, it helps to be precise. Several unrelated credentials in the technology and education worlds share similar-looking letters. On this site, C)IHE refers to one specific certification: the incident handling credential offered by Mile2. Every fact in this article is about that credential alone. For shorter takes on the same question, see our pages on what C)IHE stands for and what C)IHE is.
Why the Parenthesis Sits Where It Does
The closing parenthesis after the first letter is a Mile2 branding convention. The vendor writes its certification acronyms with a bracket after the initial "C", so the credential reads as C)IHE rather than CIHE. It is a stylistic mark, not a separate word, and it does not change what the credential means. When you see a plain "CIHE" in conversation or a job posting, the writer is usually just dropping the bracket, though it is always worth confirming the issuer when a posting is ambiguous.
Who Issues the Credential
The certification is awarded by Mile2, a cybersecurity training and certification vendor. Testing is delivered online through the Mile2 Learning Management System. Mile2 publishes a course outline and a separate renewal program page, and those documents are the source of the preparation details below. If you want the broader picture of how the credential is positioned, our overview of the C)IHE certification covers it from the credential side.
One distinction matters early: the course and the exam are different products. Course purchase is not required to buy the exam. Some candidates take the instructor-led class, others self-study from the published outline, and the exam is available either way.
What the Credential Covers: Twelve Preparation Areas
The current linked Mile2 outline lists twelve substantive modules after a course introduction (Module 00, which is not counted here). We present these as unweighted preparation scope. Mile2's reviewed material does not publish percentage weights per area, so no one can honestly say which topic carries the most points. Any emphasis you place on one area over another is an editorial choice, not an official instruction. For a deeper walk-through, see our guide to all 12 content areas.
Domain 1: Incident Handling Explained
The foundation. Candidates work through what an incident is, what incident handling is, and how incident handling differs from incident response.
- The incident response process as a whole
- Seven reasons an incident response plan is necessary
- How to build an effective incident response team, considerations for creating one, and tips for team members
Domain 2: Incident Response Policy, Plan and Procedure Creation
Documentation hierarchy: how a policy, a plan and a set of procedures relate to one another.
- Incident response policy versus plan versus procedures
- Sharing information with outside parties
Domain 3: Incident Response Team Structure
Organizational design questions rather than technical ones.
- Team models and how to select among them
- Incident response personnel
- Dependencies within organizations
Domain 4: Incident Response Team Services
What a team actually offers its constituency.
- Intrusion detection
- Advisory distribution
- Education and awareness
- Information sharing
Domain 5: Incident Response Recommendations
Program-level guidance for standing up a capability.
- Establishing a formal incident response capability
- Establishing information sharing capabilities
- Building an incident response team
Domain 6: Preparation
The outline prints this one as "Chapter 06" within the same sequential list, but it sits in the module sequence between Domains 5 and 7. It is the most hands-on preparation area by title.
- Threat hunting and threat analysis frameworks
- Tools and toolkits
- Policy and procedures
- Preventing incidents
Domain 7: Detection and Analysis
The operational core of day-to-day handling.
- Attack vectors, signs of an incident, and sources of precursors and indicators
- Incident analysis, documentation, prioritization and notification
Domain 8: Containment, Eradication and Recovery
Decisions made under pressure.
- Selecting the right containment strategy
- Gathering and handling evidence
- Identifying the attacking hosts
- Eradication and recovery
Domain 9: Post Incident Activity
What happens after the fire is out.
- Lessons learned
- Using collected incident data
- Evidence retention
Domain 10: Incident Handling Checklist
Short but practical: why checklists matter and how to build them.
Domain 11: Incident Handling Recommendations
Consolidated guidance, including the recommendations themselves and implementing threat intelligence.
Domain 12: Coordination and Information Sharing
Working across organizational boundaries.
- Coordination and purple teaming
- Information sharing techniques, including granular information sharing
- Sharing recommendations
The Four-Phase Model and the NIST Caveat
The current linked outline carries a version string of vs. 922021 and describes the older four-phase NIST 800-61 incident response model. NIST published Revision 3 on April 3, 2025, but whether Mile2 has adopted it in the C)IHE material was not verified. The honest position for a candidate is this: learn the four-phase model as it appears in the Mile2 outline, treat it as the course's working framework, and do not assume the exam has been rewritten around the newer revision. If you want to read Revision 3 for your own professional development, do so as a separate activity, and keep the two clearly apart in your notes so you do not mix terminology when answering questions written against the course content.
Key Takeaway
Anchor your answers to the framework in the Mile2 outline. Newer public guidance is worth reading for your job, but the outline's four-phase version is what the course content reflects.
Exam Format at a Glance
The structural facts that Mile2's reviewed material supports are modest but clear.
| Attribute | What is documented |
|---|---|
| Delivery | Online through the Mile2 Learning Management System |
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Duration | Approximately 2 hours |
| Minimum to pass | 70% |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not stated |
| Practical component | None established; Cyber Range exercises support training only |
| Candidate pass rate | Not publicly disclosed in reviewed official material |
Several rules that candidates often ask about were not verified: whether the exam is open-book, whether a calculator is permitted, how remote proctoring is configured, and whether the test is adaptive. Do not rely on forum assumptions for these; confirm directly with Mile2 before test day. For deeper discussion of the scoring threshold, read our page on the C)IHE passing score, and for difficulty perspectives see how hard the C)IHE exam is. Because no pass rate is published, our pass rate article explains what can and cannot be said.
Entry Expectations and Buying the Exam
Mile2 suggests, rather than mandates, a background of around 12 months of network-technology experience, knowledge of networking and TCP/IP, and essential Linux knowledge. We did not verify a mandatory degree requirement or a reference count, so treat the list above as guidance. The full discussion lives in our requirements article.
On price, the official indexed Exam Combo was listed at USD $500 on sale against a USD $795 original price. That bundle includes the exam, a simulator and a guide. What we could not verify: the fee for the bare exam on its own, any member versus nonmember distinction, checkout taxes, and how long the sale lasts. Prices change, so confirm at checkout. Our cost breakdown goes through this in more detail.
Validity and Renewal
Under the current dedicated renewal policy, the credential is valid for three years. Renewal calls for 60 qualifying CEUs, agreement to Mile2's policies and ethics, and payment of the applicable renewal fee; the fee amount was not verified.
A note on conflicting wording: some older attached Mile2 course PDFs mention retaking the current exam and earning 20 CEUs per year. That is older recertification language. For current administration, follow the dedicated renewal policy page rather than combining the two schemes. Do not read it as a requirement to both retake the exam and accumulate annual CEUs. And keep the terms straight: CEUs for renewal are a maintenance mechanism, entirely separate from the 40 CEUs attached to the five-day course and from anything on the exam itself.
Who the Credential Is Aimed At
The module list reads like the working vocabulary of a security operations or incident response function: detection, analysis, containment, evidence handling, checklists, coordination, information sharing. People who naturally benefit are those who sit in or adjacent to a team that responds to security events: analysts, junior responders, system and network administrators moving toward security duties, and team leads who need a shared framework. The modules on policy, team structure and services also speak to people who must organize response capability, not just perform it.
We deliberately avoid quoting salary figures because none are in the reviewed Mile2 material. If you are weighing career impact, our pages on C)IHE jobs, salary considerations and whether the certification is worth it discuss how to evaluate the credential against your own goals without relying on invented numbers.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Module
You do not need a generic schedule, but a sensible order follows the logic of the outline itself. One caution: because the modules are unweighted, the plan below is an editorial suggestion, not a statement of exam emphasis.
Vocabulary and framing (Domains 1-2)
- Define incident, incident handling and the difference between handling and response
- Separate policy, plan and procedure cleanly, since questions often hinge on those distinctions
Organization (Domains 3-5)
- Compare team models and the logic of choosing among them
- Review team services and the recommendations for building a capability
Technical core (Domains 6-8)
- Preparation, threat hunting and frameworks, then signs, precursors and indicators
- Walk through containment strategy, evidence handling and recovery as a connected story
Closing the loop (Domains 9-12)
- Lessons learned, evidence retention, checklists, threat intel and coordination
- Finish with timed practice at the 100-question, two-hour format
For a fuller plan, see our C)IHE study guide, and for last-minute review use the one-page cheat sheet. To rehearse the question style under timed conditions, try the practice questions on the main practice test site.
Key Takeaway
When two answer choices both sound reasonable, ask which one fits the process described in the outline: prepare, detect and analyze, contain and recover, then review. That ordering is the spine of the course.
Frequently Asked Questions
C)IHE stands for Certified Incident Handling Engineer, a certification from Mile2. The bracket after the first letter is Mile2's branding style for its certification acronyms. See also our C)IHE meaning explainer.
The documented format is 100 multiple-choice questions in approximately two hours, with a 70% minimum to pass. The split between scored and unscored items is not stated in the reviewed material.
No. Course purchase is not required to buy the exam. Mile2 suggests about 12 months of network-technology experience plus TCP/IP and essential Linux knowledge, but this is guidance rather than a verified hard prerequisite.
A practical certification component was not established. The Cyber Range exercises that accompany training support learning, but they do not show that the certification exam itself includes a lab portion.
Under the current dedicated renewal policy, it is valid for three years. Renewal involves 60 qualifying CEUs, agreeing to Mile2's policies and ethics, and paying the applicable renewal fee, whose amount was not verified. Older course PDFs mention different wording, so rely on the renewal policy page.